Selection process

The Selection Panel - a 21 person panel drawn from the film world select the films for the LUX FILM PRIZE Official Selection. The panel includes producers, distributors, cinema operators, festival directors and film critics, representative of the European Commission (CREATIVE EUROPE) and of Eurimages.  Mrs Doris Pack, LUX FILM PRIZE Coordinator and former President of the Committee on Culture chairs it. The European Parliament's Committee on Culture and Education appoints the panel members. Each year, it replaces one-third of the members. A representative of the film which won the previous year's LUX FILM PRIZE is an ex officio member of the panel. Founding members are not entitled to vote.

The films for the LUX FILM PRIZE Official Selcetion / Competition are proposed by the Selection Panel. They can be also submitted by the Members of the European Parliament and by spontaneous submission of the Cinema professionals.

The members of the Selection Panel propose and establish the 10 films which will be part of the Official Selection, and in consequence the films of the Competition.

Those members of the Selection Panel who have participated in the production or commercial exploitation of a film in Competition can propose  films but may not vote for one in which they have commercial interest.

The Selection Panel's decisions are based on an outright majority, or, failing that, by a relative majority reached in a ballot. The members are sworn to secrecy till the official announcement of the Selection (July) and of the Competition (end July)


Selection Panel Eligible Criteria

The Committee on Culture and Education of the European Parliament approved the LUX FILM PRIZE Selection Panel for 2017.

The list of European cinema professionals who will have the task to propose, watch and select the films for the forthcoming Official Selection and Competition of the LUX FILM PRIZE 2017 and for the fourth edition of the LUX FILM DAYS - to begin in autumn 2017, has been endorsed by the Committee on Culture and Education members' in March.

Beside the confirmed members, these are the new members who have joined the Selection Panel:
Mrs Greta Akcijonaite, Lithuania Head of Distribution, Kino pasaka
Mr Henk Cluytens, Belgium, Distributor, September Film
Mr Jonas Dornbach, Germany, Producer of “TONI ERDMANN”, LUX FILM PRIZE WINNER 2016
Mr Claus Hjorth, Denmark, Head of Children & Youth Department, Danish Film Institute

The meetings are held in Brussels in June, on the premises of the European Parliament in Brussels. The Selection Panel discussed on and selected the 10 films which will be part of the Official Selection. The announcement of these 10 films will take place at the beginning of July at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival. Among these ten, 3 films will qualify for the Competition and will be subtitled in all European official languages.

The LUX FILM PRIZE eligible films meet the following criteria:

  1. They are fictions or creative documentaries (may be animated).
  2. They have a minimum length of 60 minutes.
  3. They result from productions or co-productions eligible under the CREATIVE EUROPE/ MEDIA PROGRAMME - European Union countries and Iceland, Albania, Norway, BiH and Montenegro
  4. They illustrate universality of European values, diversity of cultures or themes raising the public debate on European building process.
  5. Films that had their festival premiere/ first release between 31 May 2016 and 31 May 2017.