Die fremde (When we leave)

Feo Aladag
119 min
Die fremde

Umay, a young German woman of 25, flees her oppressive marriage in Istanbul with her young son Cem and returns to her native Berlin. She hopes to build a better life there. But her unexpected arrival creates conflicts in her family which is torn between their love for her and the values of their community. They want to return Cem to his father in Turkey. To remain with her son, Umay moves again. Although she manages to build a new life, her need for her family’s approval and love drives her to a series of ill-fated attempts at reconciliation. She doesn’t realize the depth of the wounds or how dangerous her struggle for independence has become.

Feo Aladag was born in 1972 in Vienna. She began her career as an actress, completing her training in London and Vienna. At the same time, she studied psychology and journalism, receiving her PhD in 2000. She attended master-classes and directed seminars at the European Film Academy as well as the German Film and Television Academy in Berlin (DFFB). She has acted in numerous acclaimed film and television productions and is a successful scriptwriter. In 2005, she founded the production company Independent Artists Filmproduktion with fellow director Züli Aladag. "When we leave" is her cinema debut as producer, scriptwriter and director.

Screenplay: Feo Aladag
Cinematography: Judith Kaufmann
Editing: Andrea Mertens
Music: Max Richter, Stéphane Moucha
Sound: Jörg Kidrowski
Art direction: Silke Buhr
Costumes: Gioia Raspé
Cast: Sibel Kekilli (Umay), Settar Tanriöðen (Kader), Derya Alabora (Halime), Florian Lukas (Stipe), Tamer Yigit (Mehmet), Serhad Can (Acar), Almila Bagriacik (Rana), Alwara Höfels (Atife), Nursel Köse (Gül), Nizam Schiller (Cem), Ufuk Bayraktar (Kemal), Marlon Pulat (Duran)
Producer: Feo Aladag, Züli Aladag
Production: Independent Artists Filmproduktion
Co-production: WDR, RBB/Arte
World sales: Telepool Sonnenstr. 21, D-80331 München, Germany Tel. +49 89 558760 Fax +49 89 55876229 ignatiew@telepool.de

LUX Prize result: 
The LUX Prize 2010 was awarded on 24 November 2010 to the German film Die Fremde (When we leave), directed by Feo Aladag. It were designated by the MEPs who saw one or more films. As for previous laureates, Parliament payed to subtitle Die Fremde into the EU's 23 official languages and for it to be adapted for the visually or hearing impaired. It also funded the production of a 35 mm print for each Member State.