BPM is already a European Film Award winner

EFA ceremony

Once again this year, the European Film Academy has announced the winners of the technical prizes ahead of the European Film Awards ceremony, the 30th edition of which will take place on Saturday 9 December in Berlin.

Robin Campillo’s LUX Prize finalist BPM (Beats Per Minute) is one of the lucky few that are included on the list, as the film took home the Award for European Editor for Campillo himself.

A special seven-member jury (comprising sound designer Samir Fočo from Bosnia & Herzegovina, Belgian composer Raf Keunen, British editor Melanie Ann Oliver, Greek costume designer Vassilia Rozana, Spanish hair and make-up artist Susana Sanchez, Polish cinematographer Łukasz Żal and Italian production designer Tonino Zera) convened in Berlin to decide on the winners. They stated, “From the very beginning, Robin Campillo’s editing perfectly underlines the desperate personal urgency of the ACT UP activists and their demonstrations. Be it at a pharmaceutical corporation or at a conference, the edit sets the tempo and contributes to the urgency of the film in perfect harmony with the framing and the story.”

Will BPM go on to win more than just one prize on 9 December?