European Parliament crowns The Broken Circle Breakdown

The Broken Circle Breakdown by Belgian director Felix Van Groeningen is the winner of the 2013 edition of the LUX Prize of the European Parliament, beating the other two nominees, Clio Bernard’s The Selfish Giant and Valeria Golino’s Miele. The news came at the end of a ceremony during a European Parliament plenary session in Strasbourg today, Wednesday, December 11.

Starring EFA winner Veerle Baetens and Johan Heldenbergh, The Broken Circle Breakdown depicts the heart-breaking struggle of a couple coping with the loss of their young daughter. It is a family melodrama tacking the topic of medical research in its moral, political and religious aspects.

Created in 2007, the LUX Prize is awarded each year on the basis of a vote by Members of the European Parliament. It is meant to show the European Parliament's commitment to supporting European film industry and its creative efforts. 

All three films selected as finalists for the LUX Prize have been awarded subtitles in the 23 official languages of the European Union, as well as a 35 mm film copy for each member state from the European Parliament. As LUX Prize finalists, they were screened in several important film festivals and at the LUX FILM DAYS across Europe

Gallery Images: