Final countdown to the LUX Prize ceremony

Three movies banner

It’s nearly here: there’s only four days left before the LUX Prize 2013 unveils its winner. Three months after the announcement of the finalists at the 10th Venice Days, the film award of the European Parliament is ready to be handed out to one of the following three films: Felix van Groeningen’s heart-breaking The Broken Circle Breakdown, Valeria Golino’s intimate Miele and Clio Barnard’s sharp The Selfish Giant.

The highly anticipated event will take place next Wednesday, December 11, at the European Parliament’s Plenary Chamber, in Strasbourg, and will be broadcasted live on the European Parliament website. The winner film will obtain public recognition and further tailored promotion, as well as an adaption for the visually or hearing impaired, on top of the subtitles in the 24 official languages in which it was presented after being selected as one of the three finalists.

The award ceremony will be preceded by a seminar for journalists divided in three panels, which will address the importance of cinema for European values.

The first one, Clap on Cultural Diversity: can cinema be a vector for communicating on European Values? will have Member of the LUX Prize Selection Panel Peter Paul Huth moderating a discussion with MEPs Doris Pack, Isabelle Durant and Oldrich Vlasak.

The second one, Film distribution across European linguistic barriers. Initiatives and Technologies to make films travelling across borders will include participation from ARTE director Veronique Cayla, MEP Silvia Costa, Creative Europe Head of Unit Xavier Troussard and Europa Cinemas Network CEO Claude-Eric Poiroux, and be moderated by Member of the LUX Prize Selection Panel Mira Staleva.

Lastly, European fears and desires on the silver screen: focus on the three films of the LUX Prize Competition will include the directors of the three finalist films Felix van Groeningen, Valeria Golino and Clio Barnard, and moderator and Member of the LUX Prize Selection Panel Jonathan Romney.

In order to decide which film will finally take the prize home, Members of the Parliament can vote until 23h55 on December 10.

Stay tuned and do not miss the date!