The Karlovy Vary International Film Festival announces the Juries for 2013

Karlovy Vary International Film Festival

One of Europe’s major film events, the world renowned Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, has today unveiled the Juries for the 48th edition of the festival. Two current LUX Prize panel members, Éva Vezér and Peter Paul Huth, have been appointed onto the East of the West Jury.

Éva Vezér, who will be chairing the the East of the West Jury, has extensive experience in film and television in various capacities. She helped launch Hungary’s Media Desk office, and for 10 years (until 2011) was the general manager of the former Magyar Filmunió, a key player in promoting the Hungarian film industry abroad. President of European Film Promotion for three years, Éva Vezér is Member of the LUX Prize Selection since 2012, when she replaced Gyorgy Baron, Hungarian film Critic in the Fipresci Jury of the 48 KVIFF.
Peter Paul Huth, among the best known film critic in Germany, is currently running a film critic programme at 3SAT, cinema channel of the ZDF. Co-writer and co-director for several documentaries on European cinema, on Krzysztof Kiéslowski, Tomás Gutiérrez Alea, Bertrand Tavernier, and Stephen Frears. He is also renowned for his interviews with top international film personalities.
Éva and Peter will join Maja Miloš, Piotr Mularuk and Sergej Stanojkovski to make the five-member Jury of the East of the West section of the Karlovy Vary IFF.
Additionally, a panel member of the 2007 edition of the LUX Prize, Ivo Andrle, has been appointed as one of the seven members of the Grand Jury. A Czech cinema operator and film distributor, Ivo Andrle has co-managed Aero, Prague’s cult movie theatre for over twelve years, and co-founded Aerofilms, one of the Czech Republic’s leading art-house distribution companies.

Stay connected with the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival where the LUX Prize has its appointment to unveil the 10 films of the 2013 Official Selection.
The Unveiling event will take place on 30 June, at the Festival, by Members of the European Parliament, representatives of KVIFF and the LUX panel.