The LUX Film Prize unveils the Selection Panel 2019

LuxPrize Selection Panel 2019

Another successful edition of the LUX FILM PRIZE has just concluded, but the next one is already underway. On February 4th, the Committee on Culture and Education of the European Parliament approved the list of members for the 2019 Selection Panel. This group of 21 European cinema professionals will once again have the task to carefully propose, watch and select the candidate films for the forthcoming Official Selection and Competition of the LUX FILM PRIZE 2019, as well as for the eighth edition of the LUX FILM DAYS (set to begin in autumn). Among the films selected by the Panel in previous editions we find masterpieces such as Ida, by PaweĊ‚ Pawlikowski, or Toni Erdmann, by Maren Ade (winners of the LUX Prize in 2014 and 2016 respectively).

This year's new additions to the Selection Panel include Icelandic filmmaker Benedikt Erlingsson, director of the 2018 LUX Prize winner, the environmental comedy-drama Woman at War, Sweden’s Mathias Holtz, cinema exhibitor and Programming Manager at Folkets Hus och Parke (Sweden's biggest cinema operator), Slovenian film critic and board of Ljubljana International Film Festival Tina Poglajen and Lithuania’s Mante Valiunaite, Senior Programmer at the Vilnius Film Festival. In addition, Lauriane Bertrand will also take part in the Selection Panel as an observer for the European Commission and the Creative Europe programme.

The newcomers will join most of the previous members of the panel: Jürgen Biesinger, producer of the European Film Academy Awards, Denmark’s Ditte Daugbjerg Christensen, Managing director at Øst for Paradis Cinema, Belgium’s Juliette Duret, Head of Cinema at BOZAR, France’s Mathilde Henrot, founder of Festival Scope, Croatia’s Selma Mehadzic, programmer for Zagreb Film Festival, Ireland’s Susan Newman-Baudais, from Eurimages, Germany’s Nikolaj Nikitin, Berlinale delegate and rector of SOFA (School of Film Agents), Hungary's Peter Bognar, distributor and festival programmer, Romania's Mihai Cristian Chirilov, artistic director of the Transilvania International Film Festival, Spain's José Luis Cienfuegos, director of the Sevilla European Film Festival, Poland's Jakub Duszynski, Board member at Europa Distribution, Italy's Giorgio Gosetti, artistic director of Venice Days, Greece's Yorgos Krassakopoulos, programmer at the Thessaloniki International Film Festival, France's Christophe Leparc, general secretary at Cannes' Directors' Fortnight, Czech Republic's Karel Och, artistic director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival and Bulgaria's Mira Staleva, deputy director of Sofia International Film Festival.

Members of the European Parliament, filmmakers, producers and other industry professionals will also have the chance to propose films via spontaneous submission before the 15th of April.

Due to the upcoming European Elections of 2019 (May 23-26), the calendar of the LUX Film Prize will undergone some important changes. This year the Selection Panel meeting will take place at the end of April (instead of June) in the premises of the European Parliament in Brussels. After the discussion and final deliberation of the panel, the selected films for this year’s edition will be announced during the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival at the beginning of July. The three finalists will be later unveiled during the Giornate degli Autori press conference at the end of July, kicking off the 2019 Official Competition.