The LUX Prize selection panel gets to work

Lux Prize Selection Panel

After having been endorsed by the Coordinators of the European Parliament’s Committee on Culture and Education on 22 March, the members for the 2017 LUX Prize Selection Panel will meet today (12 June) and tomorrow (13 June) at the European Parliament in Brussels, in order to select the films for the award’s forthcoming Official Selection and Competition.

The Official Selection will then be announced at the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, which is taking place from 30 June to 8 July in the Czech city.

As announced previously, this year's new panellists are Germany’s Jonas Dornbach, producer for Komplizen Film, of the fame of the 2016 LUX Prize winner Toni Erdmann, Lithuania’s Greta Akcijonaite, head of distribution for Kino Pasaka, Belgium’s Henk Cluytens, sales manager for September Film and distributor for ABC Films, and Denmark’s Claus Hjorth, head of Children & Youth Department for the Danish Film Insitute, head of secretariat for the Danish Media Council for Children and Young People and general manager of Awareness Centre Denmark (EU Connecting Europe Facility Programme).

They will be joining previous members: Hungary's Peter Bognar, distributor for Cinefil and festival programmer, Romania's Mihai Cristian Chirilov, film critic and artistic director of the Transilvania International Film Festival, Spain's José Luis Cienfuegos, director of the Sevilla European Film Festival, Poland's Jakub Duszynski, distributor for Gutek Film and co-president at Europa Distribution, Italy's Giorgio Gosetti, artistic director of Venice Days, France's Mathilde Henrot, founder of VoD platform and LUX collaborator Festival Scope, Croatia's Ivana Ivisic, cinema and audiovisual expert, Slovenia's Vanja Kaludjercic, programmer of the Sarajevo Film Festival and head of the Holland Film Meeting, Greece's Yorgos Krassakopoulos, programmer at the Thessaloniki International Film Festival, France's Christophe Leparc, general secretary at Cannes' Directors' Fortnight, Ireland's Susan Newman-Baudais, Eurimages project manager for first and second feature films, Czech Republic's Karel Och, artistic director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival, Germany's Iris Praefke, exhibitor at Moviemento Kino Betriebs GmbH and member of Europa Cinemas, United Kingdom's Jonathan Romney, film critic, Bulgaria's Mira Staleva, deputy director of Sofia International Film Festival, and, lastly, Niombo Lomba, policy officer for Creative Europe, and Marion Döring, director of the European Film Academy.

Stay tuned for the results of the meeting, which will kick off the 2017 LUX Prize!