One more Cannes for LUX-approved talents

Cannes 2017 banner

The 2017 edition of the most star-studded gathering in Europe, the Cannes Film Festival, will see a number of LUX Prize-approved talents return to the Croisette.

German director Fatih Akin (2007 LUX Prize winner for The Edge of Heaven) will return to the Palme d’Or competition with his new film, In the Fade, a revenge thriller starring Diane Kruger. Hungarian filmmaker Kornél Mundruczó (2008 LUX Prize finalist for Delta, 2014 LUX Prize Official Selection with White God) will join him with his new feature, Jupiter’s Moon, a fantastical take on Europe’s immigration issue. Lastly, Sweden’s Ruben Östlund (2011 LUX Prize finalist for Play) will vie for the Palme d’Or for the first time with his bold experiment The Square.

We also find Bulgaria’s Stephan Komandarev (2008 LUX Prize Official Selection with The World Is Big and Salvation Lurks around the Corner), who is competing in the Un Certain Regard section with Directions; Italian filmmaker Jonas Carpignano (2015 LUX Prize finalist for Mediterranea) with his new film about the non-migratory Roma community in Calabria, A Ciambra, selected for the Directors’ Fortnight; and France’s Claire Denis (2009 LUX Prize Official Selection with 35 Shots of Rum), who will have the honour of opening the Directors’ Fortnight with her take on Roland BarthesLet the Sunshine In, starring Juliette Binoche and Gérard Depardieu.

The juries for the various sections will also be welcoming a number of LUX friends. The Competition jury, chaired by Pedro Almodóvar, has reserved a seat for the most recent LUX Prize winner, Maren Ade, who after the huge success of Toni Erdmann will be treading the Croisette once again. The Un Certain Regard jury will bring together Karlovy Vary International Film Festival artistic director and selection panel member Karel Och, and Belgium’s Joachim Lafosse (2008 LUX Prize Official Selection with Our Children). Plus, the Cinéfondation and short-film jury will include Romania’s Cristian Mungiu (2007 LUX Prize finalist for 4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days) as president, as well as Greece’s Athina Rachel Tsangari (2011 LUX Prize finalist for Attenberg).