Sister, More Than Honey and Winter Nomads, Best Swiss films


The 16th edition of the Swiss Film Prize ceremony was held on March 23rd at the Bâtiment des Forces Motrices in Geneva, in the presence of the Federal Councillor Alain Berset, the Swiss “minister” of culture. Prizes were awarded in ten categories.

Three films stood out. For a start, the must-see movie of the evening, Sister [film focus] by Ursula Meier, won the awards for Best Fiction Film, Best Screenplay (for Antoine Jaccoud and Ursula Meier) and Best Actor (for Kacey Mottet Klein). The other heavyweight in competition, More Than Honey by Markus Imhoof, won the prize for Best Documentary. Peter Scherer, who composed the original soundtrack, won the Best Music award. Finally, the Swiss film which received the last Best European Documentary prize, Winter Nomads by Manuel von Stürler, won the "Quartz" - the name of the crystal trophy given to the laureates – for Best Cinematography (which went to the chief operator Camille Cottoagnoud) as well as a Special Prize from the Academy – awarded to the film’s editor, Karine Sudan.

As for the actors, besides the trophy awarded to the young Kacey Mottet Klein for his role in Sister, the Academy chose to honour the actress from Rosie by Marcel Gisler and a great name in Swiss cinema, Sibylle Brunner (Best Actress), and Antonio Buil, for his role in Opération Libertad by Nicolas Wadimoff (Best Actor in a Supporting Role).

Two short films were also rewarded: Einspruch VI by Rolando Colla, Quartz for Best Short Film, and La nuit de l’ours by Frédéric and Samuel Guillaume, Best Swiss Animated Film in 2013. As for the Prize of Honour, it went to one of the greatest documentary filmmakers in the history of Swiss cinema, Jacqueline Veuve, rewarded for the entirety of her work. While she was unfortunately not able to take part in the ceremony for health reasons, it was under thunderous applause that Federal Councillor Alain Berset awarded the trophy to her husband, Léopold Veuve. The next edition of the Swiss Film Prize ceremony will take place on Friday, March 21st, 2014, in Zurich.